Bye bye America, Hello CamCam

Welp. I’m back in Cameroon. Hard to believe that a month ago I was leaving for the US, and that my nice getaway to the US is already over.

I meant to update this blog during my time in the US, but between the traveling, hanging out with family, visiting friends, not having my own computer, and just enjoying the US, I never got a chance.

Anyways, my trip was super wonderful. I’m so glad that I got to see as many friends as I did – thanks to everyone who made time out of their busy schedules to hang out/grab meals with me during lunch breaks and after long days of work!

Hawaii was amazing, and then immediately I headed off to Hershey, Philly, and NYC to see more friends (and sister), before settling back in DC.

Leaving the US again was definitely tougher than I had anticipated. I didn’t exactly leave village on a “high note,” with all the library shenanigans that went down just days before I left. The last time I left home, I was leaving to go on this mysterious and exciting Peace Corps adventure. This time, the mystery and excitement has worn off a bit. But, on the bright side, I’m 15 months through my service (how’d that happen so fast?) and I hear that the second year is much easier. I also have a family trip to S. Africa coming up in a few months, so that will definitely be something to look forward to.

Now that I’m in Cameroon, yes, it’s hotter and more humid than I last remember. My first shower back in-country was one taken with mosquitoes buzzing around and I toweled off with a nice clean pillow case. But hey. At least it’s a hot shower. Stepping off the plane, I could feel that I was back in Cameroon. No real lines. Getting luggage involved trying to push some people out of the way to get a view of the conveyor belt. We were squished in our little bush taxi with all of our luggage strapped into the open trunk. I am definitely back in Cameroon.

I wish I were more excited about being back, but I think a little time getting readjusted will help. For the time being, plan is to just start making plans to keep me busy. I’m definitely ready to hit the ground running once I get to post. ¬†And once I see my friends in village and my two little animal pals, Timon and Pumba, I think I’ll be reminded of what I really do love about this experience.

Below are some pix from before I went to the US, and a few pictures from my trip. I didn’t get the chance to put up more photos from the 2nd half of my stay in the US, but this will have to do for now.

I’m off to packing up to leave for post tomorrow morning, so, a bientot!

Love,

Wes, Pumba, and Timon

celebrating the 50th Anniversary of Peace Corps in Cameroon with my spiffy new outfit

celebrating the 50th Anniversary of Peace Corps in Cameroon with my spiffy new outfit

Goofballs celebrating Thanksgiving in Bazou

Goofballs celebrating Thanksgiving in Bazou

Pumba and Timon = BFFs for Life

Pumba and Timon = BFFs for Life

Katie + Baby Ange = Adorable

Katie + Baby Ange = Adorable

Kim came back to Bazou to say her goodbyes

Kim came back to Bazou to say her goodbyes

...And then Timon got attacked by Pumba... Nursing him back to health

…And then Timon got attacked by Pumba… Nursing him back to health

Celebrity treatment on the Hawaiian cruise

Celebrity treatment on the Hawaiian cruise

Nomming on the Cruise

Nomming on the Cruise

Beautiful scenery in Maui

Beautiful scenery in Maui

Professional Photographer (almost.)

Professional Photographer (almost.)

Spelunking! (not really...)

Spelunking! (not really…)

Rain jacket: Check. Sunglasses: Check. ready for this bad boy car ride!

Rain jacket: Check. Sunglasses: Check. ready for this bad boy car ride!

Gorgeous flowers

Gorgeous flowers

Hula-ing

Hula-ing

Too much time with the camera and flowers

Too much time with the camera and flowers

Got in touch with my nature-y side...

Got in touch with my nature-y side…

Waimea Canyon

Waimea Canyon

Sunset on the cruise

Sunset on the cruise

IMGP9955

Passing by Napili, Maui

Passing by Napili, Maui

Crazy geography of Napili

Crazy geography of Napili

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.