Road Trip Details – And I Need Your Help!

It’s road trip planning time!

In less than a month (ie on August 25), I’ll be starting on my cross-country adventures. And I need your help! I’m trying to make this as budget-friendly as possible (ie I’m not afraid of sleeping on couches/floors), so if you or someone else that you know would be willing to host me, or if you have any travel tips of where to go/things to see, please let me know.

Seriously. Text me. E-mail me. Brain wave me.

My priorities on this trip will be:

Beautiful place, here I come!1) See National Parks. I’ve got a very long life-bucket list, and I figured that since I plan on going back to school soon, it’ll be a while before I’ll be able to do this

2) Train for the marathon. I signed up for one in November, so this will be the perfect chance to train for it (hopefully)

What I tell myself I look like when I run…

3) Add pictures to my life scrapbook. I don’t have a physical scrapbook for life, obviously (unless Facebook counts?), but I just got a new camera and am excited to capture the beauty of the good ol’ US of A.

4) Hike, bike, canoe, and do anything else that involves Mother Nature. I’ve missed the US far too much while I was gone. Especially Mama Nature. So this will be a good chance to get to know her again.

5) Catch-up with and make friends. The planning of this trip involved first finding where I wanted to go, then figuring out who might be on my path. So, I’m hoping that I’ll be crossing paths with some long-lost friends, while meeting some newbies along the way

Here’s my plan, for the moment. It’ll probably change a few times between now and the real thing. But that’s life. If there are asterisks next to the destination, it means that I most likely don’t have a place to stay. Please let me know if you have any leads! Also, I’m sending out emails today/tomorrow about places to stay. So look out for an email if you said that you might be able to host me :)

August 25: Drive to Ohio

August 26: Drive to Chicago

August 27: Drive to Milwaukee

*August 28: Drive to Omaha

*August 29: Drive to Denver

*August 30 – September 4: Denver

*September 5: Drive to Yellowstone

*September 6-10: Yellowstone

*September 11: Drive to Glacier National Park

*September 12-14: Glacier National Park

September 15: Drive to Seattle

September 16: Seattle

*September 17: Drive to Olympic National Park

*September 18-20: Olympic National Park

Septemer 21: Drive to Portland

September 22-23: Portland

*September 24: Drive to Crater Lake

September 25: Drive to San Francisco

September 26-27: San Francisco

*September 28: Drive to Lake Tahoe

*September 29: Lake Tahoe

*September 30: Drive to Yosemite

*October 1-4: Yosemite

*October 5: Drive to Death Valley

*October 6: Drive to Zion National Park

*October 7-9: Zion National Park

*October 10: Drive to Bryce National Park

*October 11: Bryce National Park

*October 12: Drive to Arches National Park (worth it??)

*October 13: Drive to Grand Canyon National Park

*October 14-16: Grand Canyon National Park

*October 17: Drive to Albequerque

October 18: Drive to Austin

October 19: Austin

October 20: Drive to New Orleans

October 21-22: New Orleans

October 23: Drive to Tampa

October 24: Tampa

*October 25: Drive to Everglades

*October 26-27: Everglades

*October 28: Drive to Savannah (or maybe NC?)

October 29: Drive to Williamsburg

October 30: Williamsburg

October 31: DC!

I’m also giving myself a week of buffer at the end, just in case.

Also, I’m looking for thingymabobs to take with me on the trip, some of which I would really rather not buy if I didn’t have to, since I’d probably never use it again. If you have any of the following that you want to lend me for the two month period, please let me know! I’d be happy to throw in some cash for borrowing it, too. This list will probably grow as I start nailing down more details, but here’s the gist:

1) Hiking poles (midget sized for me)

2) A small, portable one-person tent

3) Small hiking pack (for a 2 day hike)

4) Bear mace/bell thinger for hiking through bear country

5) Pocket knife

6) Road emergency kit (I’m hoping I will never have to make use of these items…and I would pay you back if I ended up using any of the items, god-forbid)

Okay, I think that’s all for now. I’ll try to update this as I get more information.

Thanks in advance for your help, y’all!

 

Peace and love,
Wes

4 Comments

July 29, 2013 · 2:14 am

4 responses to “Road Trip Details – And I Need Your Help!

  1. Tierney

    Hi Wes,
    You don’t know me but I’ve been following since your last year in Cameroon. Now in Uganda 3 months economic Development Volunteer. Internet terrible where I am. Have lived all over the US and done many cross country trips-email me. Can write more.

  2. Wes, I’ve been following you for about a bit…..since my son received his PC invite to Lesotho in Feb. Enjoyed your writings! Just wanted to add to your Road Trip info….if you haven’t checked out http://www.airbnb.com — do so! Evan rented his apt several times in Fayetteville, AR. This will be a great source of couches/rooms to rent across the nation. If you happen to be speeding through the Memphis area — give me a ring! I’ll be happy to host you! Happy Safe travels, Debbie Lowrey 901.212.7032

    • Debbie, Thanks for your message! I actually recently heard of airbnb and will most definitely be using it if I can’t find a suitable place to couchsurf. I’ve heard great things about it so far. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll be passing through Memphis at all, but who knows…if plans change I will let you know. Thanks so much for your kind offer, and good luck to your son!